Style Spotlight :: Sara Criss

Sara Criss is a childhood friend of Kate’s. After graduating from Johnson and Wales in 2008 Sara moved to NYC to pursue her career in advertising. Currently, Sara is an Account Manager on the Macy’s account at J. Walter Thompson. Being involved with such a large account has its perks – like several meetings and shoots with Clinton Kelly, Justin Bieber, etc etc. – WE DIE! Sara has always had an eye for effortlessly mixing current trends with classic pieces. She always looks adorable, fun and pulled together, and that’s why we wanted to feature her this week!

Sara CrissHere are a few more things you should know about Sara:

1. Describe your style in 5 words
Sparkly, Feminine, Trendy, Bohemian (occasionally), Polished

2. Who is your style icon and why?
Jenna Lyons – classic style but applies trends to basics in a way that is completely unexpected and fresh. Allows for high/low outfits anyone can put together and makes fashion accessible.

3. What accessory can you not live without ( you can send a picture)
My green reflective Ray-Ban’s! Probably haven’t gone one day this summer without them! They add a little something to every outfit and I can’t walk down the street without someone complimenting them!

Also super into bohemian headbands and updo looks. I picked up a gorgeous jeweled one when I was in India and it sat in a drawer for a year. Sad it took me that long to figure out how great it is – especially on those days you don’t know what to do with your hair and in a rush!

4. What’s your favorite trend of the season and how have you been wearing it?
Maxis! As a short girl – 5’1 – they have pretty much been something I try to stay away from. This year the fabrics and cuts are so flattering and well, I’ve basically purchased them in every color (just wear a healthy heel)! With a basic tank or t-shirt, structured blazer or leather jacket – even a chunky cropped sweater for the day – I die. Flowy and feminine. My favorite is this canary yellow one (seen above) from Zara! I have loved mixing and matching different accessories with and it is definitely a trend I have maxed out on this summer – no pun intended šŸ˜‰

5. Where’s your favorite place to shop in NYC? Favorite place to eat?
Wink! – an adorable boutique chain here for when I want to splurge – clothing or accessories! That said, I go against all the fashion rules and would rather buy a full sequins dress than a blazer I’ll wear for multiple seasons. To compensate, I try to Ā purchase my more trendy pieces from Topshop and Zara – decent quality but not too much of a financial investment!

My favorite place to eat!? There are so many! Most recently I have added UVA to the rotation! Cute and cozy. Amazing black truffle pasta and extensive wine selection! Yum!

Leave a comment